A male, mental health and speaking out in 2019

A male, mental health and speaking out in 2019

Hey guys, I am back with a brand new blog post and this one will be about suffering from mental health problems as a male and why it can be so hard to speak out due to this. I will be covering my previous mental health problems and how I see things these days in regard to speaking out on social media. I would also love to know what you think in regards to speaking out and whether you were ever able to do it. Let’s get right into the blog post.

My Mental Health past

So, guys, I have quite the past with mental health problems. In 2013, I was very depressed and suffered from major anxiety issues as well as suicidal thoughts. It took me being at my worst and fully breaking down to actually speak to anyone about my issues. When I eventually managed to bring myself up to speaking out about my issues I was deleted by loads of people on Facebook and I lost followers on Twitter.

This made me feel so let down by people because some of them were people I had spoken to in the past on more than one occasion. Back then it was definitely so hard to speak out about mental health issues because a lot of people on social media are just too selfish to support others.

Speaking out as a male

I feel like even now speaking out as a male is far harder than it is if you are female due to how people react towards males with mental health problems. I am not saying it isn’t hard for females but males are always referred to as weak or inferior if they open up about their problems. Males are always perceived to be super strong and alpha in society therefore we struggle to open up due to feeling like we will disappoint people or receive criticism for speaking out.

I don’t feel like this is any easier in 2019 either. The problem with social media is that there are far more trolls now than ever before due to the number of cowards who think it is okay to badmouth and ridicule others. Social media sites don’t do much about bullying either so unless this changes then problems with trolling will always remain there.

Speaking out in 2019

I feel like it is still incredibly difficult to speak out in 2019 unless you are confident enough to do it and quick enough to block out trolls as soon as they respond to you. Sadly some people are still in the dark ages when it comes to mental health problems. However, I feel like more people understand them compared to before.

We definitely need proper Government investment in mental health services for the public though because in most areas there just aren’t enough professionals to cope with the number of people who suffer from poor mental health and severe issues such as self-harm and depression.

I also feel like more needs to be done in the workplace in order to help others feel better in regards to their problems too. Until bully culture is removed from all workplaces then mental health problems will always be a thing.

Final thoughts

I would like to take a moment to thank you guys for reading and supporting my content on the new blog site. You have helped my mental health with the support because I didn’t feel confident and had loads of anxiety over this journey but you have all made it easy for me to relax. Have a great day and I’d love to know what you think of the content so remember to comment on what you feel.

2 thoughts on “A male, mental health and speaking out in 2019

  1. I am sorry to hear that your mental health journey has been wracked with so many trolls. Some people just like to be mean, I think. I hope that you continue to find strength and healing in your journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment