How blogging affects my mental health

How blogging affects my mental health

Hey guys, I am back with another blog post and this will be about how blogging affects my mental health. I have now been blogging for 25 months and I was self-hosted for 11 months. It has been a fun journey but with some tough moments and then some amazing moments. I will talk about how blogging has been for me and why I feel like it’s been a big impact on my mental health. I would also love to hear about your blog’s effect on your mental health so feel free to share in the comments. Let’s get right into the blog.

The beginning

My anxiety was through the roof when I began to blog. I was so nervous about whether I’d fit into the blogging community and if I could keep producing good work that people wanted to read ever. The blogging community is full of loads of different people and with me having Asperger’s and being socially awkward and introverted anyway it made things tough, to begin with.

Followers and views

I had such a positive start with gaining viewership and followers and now I want to build that up even more. I am a bit frustrated with things though because even though I know my work has got better and loads of people have commented on it saying it’s great, my numbers don’t show that whatsoever.

Since I’ve been not self-hosted again, the most viewed post on my blog only has 42 views. For some people, this would great but for me, I wanna do a lot more especially due to the fact that I managed to hit over 100 a few times on my old blog. Part of why I blog is that I want to inspire people to express their creativity and improve their mental health but unless my reach dramatically increases, I feel like this doesn’t happen.

Blogging drama

This affected me so badly, to be honest as I hadn’t dealt with anything like it. I had a couple of stupid altercations with other bloggers over things that weren’t even true but due to them I feel like I wasn’t part of the blogging world and that people would hate on me and stop reading my content. It felt so bad being like that due to the inconsiderate actions of others but it didn’t stop it from happening.

Personal development

As a person, I’ve come a long way since I began to blog. My anxiety isn’t anywhere near as bad overall and I have managed to build up my conversational skills. I would love to see myself in about 4/5 years’ time to see where I am as a person because the progress levels are amazing to me. I am a far better writer and have so much confidence in my writing ability. I hope to keep improving it.

The question answered

I must admit that even though there are some things that affect me negatively with blogging, it helps my mental health so so much. I hope it affects you guys in the same way and I also hope that reading my blog helps you too. I would love to thank you all for reading and supporting my content. I’d love for you to share it with your friends, family and whoever you want. Have a great day.

Leave a comment